The University of Haifa
Institute type Universities
Area Haifa Area
Date of recognition 30/05/1972
Budgeting Publicly funded institutions

The University of Haifa was established in 1963 under the joint auspices of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem and the Municipality of Haifa. In 1972 the University was accredited as an academic institution by the Council for Higher Education. The University has a pluralistic character with students from established cities, development towns, and collective settlements (kibbutzim and moshavot), and students who are new immigrants, Jews, Arabs and Druze, and officers in the army and security forces who all study together in co-existence of peace, tolerance and mutual respect. The University views the joining of academic excellence and social responsibility as its flagship theme, and service to the community as one of its important goals. The University has six faculties: the Faculty of Humanities, the Faculty of Social Sciences, the Faculty of Natural Sciences, the Faculty of Law, the Faculty of Social Welfare and Health Sciences, and the Faculty of Education. The University also has five schools: of business administration, social work, history, public health and political science. The University’s involvement in the community finds its expression in many ways. Alongside the promotion of excellence, the University devotes attention to art and nurtures the accumulating of collections.

Mt. Carmel, Haifa 31905